Time heals all wounds?

They say that time heals all wounds. 

selfportlake

My wounds do not come from the physical realm but rather the spiritual and emotional realm. My wounds come from the wounds of divorce. Divorce is messy no matter who does the leaving. Divorce hurts all involved – I am living proof of that. However, as painful as divorce is, sometimes marriage wounds are simply as painful. My daughter is proof of that. She and I have been through two marriages (her dad and her step-dad) and two divorces. And 2.5 years after I left her stepdad, she still bears the scars of that marriage. The scars from her father are much more painful – while God has healed her in many respects, she will never get over her father’s treatment of the two of us.

While my ex-husband has moved on and is now engaged, I have not even gone on a simple date. The mere thought simply terrifies me. I’m to the point now that I’m almost willing to date. I actually want a husband now. I want someone to have a daily conversation with. Then I think of two failed marriages…and think maybe rescuing a dog would be better.

I know that if God has a husband out there for me – eventually he’ll come along. Eventually I will be healed of all my wounds. And eventually maybe I’ll allow myself to be healed. Healed from negativity, abuse, being ditched by “friends”, being shunned, and more… many wounds seem so fresh that I will never speak them out loud. However, God knows my heart, He knows my past, and He knows my wounds. I am healing in God’s time. Just as one cannot recover immediately from major surgery, major emotional wounds will not heal overnight either.


“It has been said, ‘time heals all wounds.’ I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens. But the wound remains.” Rosemary Kennedy


They say time heals all wounds…I guess we’ll see. 

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/heal/”>Heal</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

