Music in my soul

I grew up on music – from a very young age. Mine was more because my parents both sing all the time…around the house. My mom actually used to play the accordion, both at home and at church. And my dad won’t get in his car without blasting his choice of music…loud enough for EVERYONE to hear.

My youngest memories of music are probably hearing my mom sing and play hymns. My family also camped a lot, so it’s wasn’t uncommon to sit around a campfire and pick on guitars and banjos. We also went to a lot of Southern Gospel events.My grandpa and other family members play guitar – and he always tried to grab my interest but I didn’t quite grasp the concept of guitar as a kid/young adult.

When I was in 5th grade I started playing violin, this starting my own musical journey. I can’t say that I was gifted with a great voice – but I work with what I have. While I would like to say I still excel at violin, because of an accident occurred by my violin, I haven’t played in about 20 years.

That being said, about a year ago I woke up one day and decided I want learn to play guitar. So I went out that day and bought one. And ever since – I have been hooked. Even though it’s a cheap one I still love to play, to learn new things, and even :gasp: to sing along while I play. Granted I play for an audience of one – but I enjoy it nonetheless.

I’ve learned that to keep my stress levels down – I must listen to music. I have may playlists for different moods, and a pair of bluetooth headphones. Luckily at work I’m able to list to music while I do my job. This helps immensely.

Leave a Reply

