They say hindsight’s 20/20

Retrospective, hindsight, reflecting, contemplative, backward-looking, reviewing.

This past year I taken it upon myself to blog more. Next year, I have a bucket list of items where I plan to hold myself accountable.

Many seek blogging as a creative outlet, a way to release words we otherwise could not speak. While my reader low may be low, my content may not be great – all of that can change. With each new post I find myself growing. I find myself contemplating what works and what doesn’t.

I’ve been blogging since February of 2001. When I started blogging, it was a dinosaur blog. It was me and a handful of tyrannosaurs. We’d be writing blog entries like, ‘The tyrannosaurus is getting grumpy.'” – Neil Gaiman author

Looking back and reflecting on blogs this year:

MOST POPULAR

  • Where the path may lead me
  • Things that make me go aahhhh…

WHERE THE PATH MAY LEAD ME…this post was about how my daughter’s college choice has come to lead me as well. The picture that goes with this post was of my daughter standing by the lake in her college town. For many years I would try to get my daughter to appreciate God’s creation around me. Like so many young people she did not see the beauty around her. I am one who can smell the wind and appreciate it. I can see the beauty in the grass, the trees, the ants on the ground…so many things. What astounded me about my daughter was when she called me one day and told me how beautiful it was around the lake and hiking trails. Then she posted pictures proclaiming God’s handiwork around her.

So in hindsight – keep telling your kids, your grandkids, those neighborhood kids…tell them, teach them – they do listen. If you are a bad influence, they will see and hear. If you are a good influence, they will see and they will hear. Be careful what you speak and what you do. I have always worked and for many years also went to school. My daughter saw this. She once told me that I was the hardest working person she knew. I don’t think that that’s true, but I’m glad she saw me as hardworking and not as lazy. I’m glad she saw me working hard in school, because now she is attending college. My daughter has Asperger’s so I am very grateful that she has had the tenacity to get outside of her comfort zone, to push herself, and to grow.


Where the path may lead me

09.07.2015

firstvisitgrace2

While that date may seem insignificant, it really has been a new path for two people; my daughter and I.

This was the date she decided on her college.

No ifs ands or buts.

She informed me, she would look no further, she had found her college, and that was that.

And from there, we ended up here.

I started randomly looking for university jobs in the state her college is located. Put in a few applications – received a call. Got an interview, got offered the job, and here I am.

Had she not taken this path, I would not be on this path, and we would not be on these paths. When we face a fork in the road, we do not know where it may take us. Work hard, trust in God – those two things have never failed me.

Stay true to yourself, yet always be open to learn. Work hard, and never give up on your dreams, even when nobody else believes they can come true but you. These are not cliches but real tools you need no matter what you do in life to stay focused on your path.” Phillip Sweet


Things that make me go aahhhh…few things can make me relax. Below are a few things that can. Ironically most of them involve being outside and nature.

29786_1460571672578_4748557_n

A few places that’s easy to do:

  • The beach, when it’s quiet
  • the beach around the lighthouse on Sanibel Island, especially at the tail end of a storm until just after a storm. 
  • Sitting in the deep woods (not to be mistaken with woods that are next to a highway with lots of noise) 
  • Laying in the back of a pickup and starting up at the night sky 
  • Playing guitar at the end of a long day

Relax – clear my mind, listen to music, read, be surrounded by nature – Relax

Relax and motivate – Starbucks Caramel Mocha, music in my ears, and Google street view – Relax and motivate

 

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/discover-challenges/retrospective/”>Retrospective</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

