365 days

1 year.
12 months.
52 weeks.
365 days.
8,760 hours.
525,600 minutes.
31,536,000 seconds.

One year.

While that seems astounding, Earth will travel 584,000,000 miles around the sun.

The word year comes from the word season. 

In simpler times, the word season would mean more to me than cold, colder, I see the sun, and hot. Seasons in Ohio/Indiana are pretty much defined like that. If I were a farmer I would care more about seasons.

I often think I would like to simplify my life and get back to the basics. I would like to start a homestead. I would like to grow my own vegetables, pick my own fruit, and have a simpler life that is self-sustaining. I realize those things will probably not happen this year. So in one year I will revisit this and see what has happened in the course of the next 364 days. Perhaps, one day, keep working, one foot in front of the other. One day dreams will become a reality. Until then…

Happy 2017.

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/year/”>Year</a&gt;

5 thoughts on “365 days

  1. Someone gave me some very good advice when I first started dreaming of a simpler life. They told me to start now, with what I have, where I am. How a plant in a pot, a square foot, tended and watched, would let me know if I actually liked the hard work necessary to grow things, because it would be incredible sad to toss aside my current life for the difficult 24/7 life a homestead, if I wasn’t even interested in using what I had available now to grow things, or be willing to tend animals every single day regardless of the weather, or how tired or sick I might be. So I started reading up on urban homesteading and have done little bits here and there, and have been very satisfied. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

