Abide | Abiding

Definition:informal(can/could not abide) – [with object] Be unable to tolerate:

‘if there is one thing I cannot abide it is a lack of discipline’

 

My body does not abide certain foods. 

My body has often been what I call “abnormal”. It will go through quite drastic measures to let me know it doesn’t like something. Then, after an undetermined amount of time, my body accepts that very thing it rejected. What I’m talking about is food. Certain types of food specifically. While I do have some food allergies, I also have many food intolerances. Mostly gluten and dairy intolerances. For a couple of years I was able to eat gluten and dairy – but then realized they were the cause of me walking like 97 year old woman…instead of a 40 year old. And they were the cause of screaming muscles, bones, and joints. So – needless to say, I jumped off that wagon. Right now I’m playing the fun game of “what doesn’t hurt my body” because it seems like there are many things that are still irritating me.

Each day feels like it brings a new struggle. There are days where I eat less than an average American 2 year-old. Yet I’m as big as the Goodyear blimp. Go figure.

I am abiding. (The part below gets a bit deep…fair warning…it’s also an opposite spin on the word abide, and in the religious context)

To abide means “to remain.” Every Christian remains inseparably linked to Christ in all areas of life. Now – I am not talking everyone who “says” they are a christian (not capitalized on purpose). Just the same, as I’m not talking about all people who go to church. Many people who are present in church, really do not even know God. What I”m talking about is a personal relationship with God – where we as humans are transformed. This happens because we come to realize it’s not all about us.

As Christians we depend on Him for grace and power to obey. We look obediently to His Word (the Bible) for instruction on how to live. We offer Him our deepest adoration and praise and we submit ourselves to His authority over our lives. In short, Christians gratefully know Jesus Christ is the source and sustainer of their lives. Without Him – where would we be? 

Abiding in Christ evidences genuine salvation. The Apostle John alluded to that when he referred to defected professors who “went out from us, but they were not really of us; for if they had been of us, they would have remained with us; but they went out, in order that it might be shown that they all are not of us” (1 John 2:19).

People with genuine faith will remain–they won’t defect; they won’t deny Christ or abandon His truth. Jesus reiterated the importance of abiding as a sign of real faith when He said, “If you abide in My Word, then you are truly disciples of Mine” (John 8:31).

ce426f5b63bb679b101d668ab251b10e.jpg

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/abide/”>Abide</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

