Adventures – A 2nd chance

An adventure is defined as;

  • noun -an unusual and exciting, typically hazardous, experience or activity.
  • verb – engage in hazardous and exciting activity, especially the exploration of unknown territory.

In a sense, when we embark on something new, it could be an adventure. Whether it be a new job, a major move, a life change…many of these things could qualify as an “adventure.”

Recently I have undergone some major changes, and am about to set off on my own adventure. I will be setting off on something unusual and exciting, and for me, something unknown. My “plan” is to move from where I live, to another state, where I know no one and to start anew. Why? For too many reasons to discuss on here today.

For too long, I have been complacent. I have been on the fence. I have been lukewarm. However, I have come to realize that living on the fence is not living at all. So I have decided that for me, I need to get outside of my comfort zone. I need to leave my natural habitat and embark on something new.

Perhaps this quotation by Drew Houston says it best: “There are 30,000 days in your life. When I was 24, I realized I’m almost 9,000 days down. There are no warm-ups, no practice rounds, no reset buttons. Your biggest risk isn’t failing, it’s getting too comfortable. Every day, we’re writing a few more words of a story. I wanted my story to be an adventure and that’s made all the difference.”

Leave a Reply

